Opening day schedule

Eagles v Cowboys

Texans v Rams

Ravens v Steelers

Lions v Jets

Raiders v Browns

49ers v Vikings

Chiefs v Bills

9am games home team listed first

Ravens v 49ers

Vikings v Texans

Steelers v Raiders

Eagles v Chiefs

Lions v Bills

*Jets v Rams

Cowboys v Browns

Afternoon games home team listed first.

*=Rams / playing one game. This game can be made up prior to the April 4th game day.

Power rankings

New blog logo

With the 20th season fast approaching I thought it would be fun to rank the 14 teams vining for the SHOW title at the end of the season. This is all in fun so don’t get your undies in a bind if you don’t like where you currently sit in the rankings. Inotherwords work on your squad!!

1. Eagles- primed to take the final step

2. Raiders- again second best

3. Steelers- new team for defending champ

4. Lions- old coach returns

5. Jets- sitting and lurking

6. Texans- new team what can they do

7. Vikings- skol

8. Forty Niners- changes everywhere

9. Bills- looking to make some noise

10. Rams- new but ready

11. Browns- new field more confidence

12. Chiefs- gonna be a long season

13. Cowboys- could be a long season

14. Ravens- rookie stand by coach

There you have it. The first power rankings of the season. Again you don’t like where you are ranked, work on your squad!! This is the LAEFL according to me…….Rasta Haze

Changing of the guard

You knew this day was coming but never wanted to give in to Father Time. Well yesterday that happened with the San Francisco 49ers, as longtime quarterback Joe Montana retired after 17 seasons as the teams signal caller. “This was a hard season and I just can’t put myself out there and hope to perform at the level I’m use too”. Joe Montana during his retirement. Montana leads the team in all passing categories. He is second in team rushing yards behind Rodger Craig.

Steve Young takes the keys to the car now. This will be his first action as a Forty Niner. He joined the team at the end of last season. The team has yet to decide on his backup. Longtime Forty Niner backup John Brodie has hung up his cleats as well. In other team news long time place kicker Ray Wershing has also retired from the team. Matt Cofer takes over the kicking duties now. The defense has added more depth at linebacker and hopefully have found another looper other than Keena Turner.

Matt Millen and Patrick Willis join the backer corp which has been in need of an upgrade for sometime. Dave Wilcox retired and Hacksaw Reynolds will come in for him. The d-line added some much needed depth. Kevin Fagan and Pierce Holt join a line looking to beef up. Word has it Fred Dean is think of retiring as well. The backfield will look the same with Ronnie Lott and Jeff Fuller manning the safety positions. Merton Hanks and Tom Holmone will back up. There is a real battle at corner Eric Davis and Tim Mckyer are battling for one spot and Williamson has the other.

Reporting for the BUZZ the unofficial newsletter of the LAEFL I’m Rastahaze.

Our first class

With our 20th season just around the corner the league has inducted our first class into the Los Angeles Electric Football League Hall of Fame.

The new members to the hall are Chet Hamptonstall , Vince Peatros, Mike Turner, Eric Robinson and Dave Campbell. All are very deserving of the honor as they set the bar for what is the league today.

Chet- was one of the co-founders of the league in 2000. He played with the league for three seasons before leaving for Colorado. Chet not only was a fine coach but a master painter. Many of his teams are still running in the league today.

Vince- what can you say about the G.O.A.T. He has mentored many in the league about scheme and bases. His knowledge of the game is second to none. Vince helped found the league in 1998 when we played in his garage.

Eric-has been the league commissioner for going on 10 seasons now. He has a SHOW title and 3 Open Run titles. The league has always been a focal point to him. League first. He is also one of the Co-founders of the Open Run.

David- the leagues first two time champion and co-founder of the Open Run Tourney. Commissioner of the league. Dave also was behind the early graphics for the league. The shield logo and The SHOW posters were his designs.

Mike- one of the founding members of the league. Founder of the Dual in the Desert which at the time was the first tournament held on the west coast. One of the most prolific passer the league has seen. He has won the Open Run tournament and has been a runner up twice trying to win The SHOW.

Each coach will have a plaque with the new league HOF logo and the year inducted along with “Founder ” in scripted onto their plaque. The league again would like to thank the first five for their contribution, innovation and fellowship to the Los Angeles Electric Football League.

The Aftermath (The SHOW 2019) The LAEFL Championship

“Defense wins championships “,were the words heard coming from 3-time LAEFL champion Anthony Price. His Rams just beat Eric Robinson’s Raiders 7-0 for back to back championship and his third in the last 4 seasons.

The road was hard fought as the Rams found themselves in a real battle early in the first round. Defense came to the rescue in the second half and took away the big play that helped the Vikings stay close. SKOL was heard no more as the Rams went on to a 46-13.

Round 2 was no easy task as the number one seed Seahawks were waiting next. The game was over early as the Rams defense put the hammer down on the Seahawks. Every time the Seahawks tried to run they were pushed back. every time they tried to pass they were either sacked or had to throw the ball away as they couldn’t get open. On offense the Rams could do what they wanted. If they wanted to run the ball it was there all day. Throwing the ball they couldn’t be stopped. It was in the second half when the Seahawks made it a game only for a brief moment back to back drives resulting in touchdowns brought the game to within 2 scores but the Rams would have none of that and secured their trip to the SHOW with a 31-14 win.

Next up Eric Robinson and his Oakland Raiders. Anthony won his first title over the Raiders three years ago. This was a mental test of the wits between these two rivals. The game was a heavyweight slugfest from the start. The Raiders defense came to play as well. That vaunted offense that was on display in the early rounds was no where to be found in the first half as both defenses controlled the tempo. Field position was a key factor in the game as the Raiders were playing from deep in their own end most of the game. Early in the third quarter it cost them. A short Ray Guy punt sets up the Rams on a short field. Ferragamo went to work with a short passing game and Little Ant did the damage on the ground. Earl Bruce caught the 20yd pass and with the extra point the Rams led 7-0 midway through the third quarter.

Tenacity all game long never giving an inch and when they did give they took back on the next play. The Raiders never could sustain any offense, 4 first downs for the game and they didn’t convert on three third down chances. The Rams faired better on third downs going 3-5 and they had 7 first downs for the game. Late in the fourth looking put the game away the Rams drove to the Raiders 20yd line and were lining up for a 37 yd field goal. Wide right the Raiders dodged a game ending score and had under 2 minutes to tie the game up. A quick Marcus Allen run and time out. Then the tenacity was released and the Raiders never saw it coming. Sack, Sack, incomplete ,incomplete. Back to Back Champions.

Final score 7-0 Rams and Coach Anthony Price becomes the first three time champion of the Los Angeles Electric Football League. Reporting for The Buzz the unofficial newsletter of the LAEFL ,I’m Rastahaze and this was the championship of the LAEFL according to me.

photo credits:

Coach Mark Houghlin

Coach John Berry